Auckland Regional Parks

About the Parks

Auckland Council Regional Parks

Phone 301 0101


Horse Riding in Regional Parks

Horse riding is allowed on 9 of the 26 Regional Parks; a number are closed in winter.

The Regional Parks Horse Riding Pass

You must register to get a horse riding pass.

Once registered to ride, you receive gate codes (combination locks), and information, including updates on tracks, pest control, or park closures. Atiu has a padlock needing a key - you have to pay a small amount for a key if you want one.

To renew your horse riding pass, phone 09 301 0101. Do this annually, you will NOT receive a reminder.

Auckland Council Regional Parks Horse Riding Pass
Auckland Regional Parks Network pass

Where Can I Ride?

Current parks on the network pass are:

In the Future...

Next parks to open

Te Muri - sometime 2016, see below for latest news

Te Arai\Pakiri - planning sometime 2016

and... Hunua Ranges, including Whakatiwai, may be investigated for more trails.

Te Muri News

Te Muri is one of the new pieces of land purchased. It sits behind the existing land of Te Muri Beach across the stream from Sullivans Bay (Mahurangi West), and across the Puhoi Stream from Wenderholm.

Te Muri Regional Park
Waitemata Hunt at Atiu Creek photo copyright Tui Images


Got a large group, or want to hold an event. ASK!

At parks where horses are permitted normally, rangers are usually keen to have events. Even if a park doesn't normally allow riding, you can ask if you wish to hold a one-off event.

camping at Atiu Creek photo copyright Tui Images

Stay in a Park!

Because the larger parks are at the far edges of Auckland, you may like to stay overnight, relax and ride! Atiu Creek and Waitawa have camping and bach options with horse paddocks available. You can even ask about places where there is camping, but no specific horse camping option e.g. Te Rau Puriri. All they can say is yes, or no... if you don't ask, you'll never know.

History of regional parks

The regional park network was established in 1965 with the creation of the Auckland Regional Authority and the transfer of the water catchment lands to be used for regional parks purposes.

The regional parks network in 2009 consists of approximately 40,000 hectares of land spread across the Auckland region (see map).

Many of the parks were acquired to protect the site from development and other threats, and are managed on the basis of their intrinsic natural and scenic qualities, their historic, and cultural features, and for their recreational uses and potential.

The ARC added 1794 hectares of parkland to the regional parks network since 2004. This includes 12.18km of coastline and is made up of:

  • Pakiri (185.6 hectares)
  • Te Rau Puriri Regional Park (247 hectares)
  • Atiu Creek Regional Park (845.4 hectares)
  • Piha Mill Camp (Stedfast Park), Waitakere Ranges (8.22 hectares)
  • Te Arai Point (50 hectares)
  • Tapapakanga Regional Park (26.8 hectares)
  • Duder Regional Park (13.7 hectares)
  • Te Muri Regional Park (407 hectares)
  • Waitawa Regional Park (188 hectares)

The ARC ceased to exist on Nov 1 2010, and control of all Regional Parks transferred to the Auckland Council. They are still run separately as Regional Parks, by the Council (local parks are managed by local boards).